You are here: Events & Education > Brick In Architecture Awards
Brick in Architecture Awards

2018 Brick in Architecture Awards Competition

Deadline Extended to May 7, 2018

Submit Entry Now

Competition Rules

Since 1989, the Brick Industry Association has sponsored one of the country's most prestigious architectural award programs - the Brick in Architecture Awards. As the only national association to represent both manufacturers and distributors, BIA is the authority in the clay brick industry. As such, the Brick in Architecture Awards has become the nation's premiere architectural award featuring clay brick.



Architectural and design firms from around the country can enter their best material to be judged by a jury of their peers. Any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2013, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), is eligible. These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units. An entrant may submit more than one project for consideration, and previously submitted projects that have not won a Best in Class, Gold, Silver or Bronze can be entered once again as long as they were completed since 2013.

Our competitions are conducted entirely online. For ease and convenience, this includes all aspects of registration and entry submission. Entrants are able to revise and enhance their submissions at any point up until the competition's closing date. A firm may submit multiple entries if desired, either within the same category or among multiple categories.

We cordially invite you to submit your best work to the competition! As the largest and most prestigious juried awards program of its kind, the Brick in Architecture Awards showcase the best work in clay face and paving brick from architects across the country in the following categories:

  • Commercial
  • Education - K-12
  • Education - Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)*
  • Residential – Single Family
  • Residential – Multi-Family
  • Paving & Landscape Projects

* Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings

Renovation (Additions)/Restoration (Restoring)
Projects submitted that have been renovated or restored should be submitted in the category they fit best.  Additions and renovations/restorations must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building.

Best in Class winners will receive national recognition through a special Brick in Architecture insert in the December 2018 issue of Architect Magazine! Other winners will be listed in the insert as well as in Brick News Online. All entrants will be featured on BIA’s online Brick Photo Gallery.

For more information about any of our Brick in Architecture Awards program, contact Tricia Mauer at







Media Coverage


2017 BIA Awards: The Humble Brick Takes the Spotlight

2017 Brick In Architecture Awards Announced

Glen-Gery Earns Architecture Awards

Berks Manufacturer Nabs Nine Awards

Playful Masonry: Lego-Inspired Children's Hospital

2017 Brick In Architecture Awards

Glen-Gery Takes Home Nine Architecture Awards

Maryland House Takes Top Brick in Architecture Award

Brick In Architecture Awards Illustrate Aesthetic Importance of Clay Brick

Names in The News

Brick Industry Association Honors Design Winners